ESFS Awards 2014

The European Science Fiction Society is proud to announce the Winners of the 2014 ESFS Awards. These awards were announced on the 24th of August 2014 at the 36th Eurocon, Shamrokon, in Dublin.


European Grand Master:

Jim Fitzpatrick – Ireland


Hall of Fame:

Best Author: Wolfgang Jeschke – Germany

Best Artist: Jim Fitzpatrick – Ireland

Best Publisher: Angry Robot – United Kingdom

Best Magazine: Cosmoport – Belarus

Best Translator: Ms. Kersti Juva – Finland

Best Promoter of Science Fiction: Dave Lally – Ireland

These Awards are granted just once by the European Committee by secret ballot from the nominations submitted by the National Delegates.

Spirit of Dedication:

Artist: Alexander Prodan – Ukraine

Best Performance: Adaption of Dr. Horribles Sing-along blog – Croatia

Best SF Website: Geek Ireland – Ireland

Best Fanzine: Darker – Russia

Best creator of children’s ScienceFiction or fantasy books:

Oisín McGann* – Ireland

Vladimir Arenev* – Ukraine

*A tie occurred and both creators are awarded.

Encouragement Awards

Marco Rauch – Austria

Victor Martinovich – Belarus

Genoveva Detelinova – Bulgaria

Irena Hartmann – Croatia

Míla Linc – Czech Republic

Anthea West – Ireland

Robert M. Wegner – Poland

Rui Alex – Portugal

Eugen Cadaru – Romania

Роман Шмараков/Roman Shmarakov – Russia

Lenka Štiblaríková – Slovakia

Igor Silivra – Ukraine
These Awards are granted according to the suggestions from the National Delegates to a young writer or artist from each European Country.